socks and socks and …

Once you start knitting socks, you can’t stop. It’s like an addiction – a pretty senseless one given the fact, that you can buy warm and cozy socks quite cheap in every color of the rainbow. Still I love knitting them and I understand everybody who does. Handmade socks make your feet just a little bit warmer than bought ones, they fit a little bit better and of course, they just look great. I especially love lace socks and have just recently finished my second pair:

pattern: Rick by Cookie A.
yarn: handpainted sock yarn bought on etsy
modifications: none intended
happyness: yeah hurray woohooo

I really like them and I’m currently wearing them 🙂 The yarn is not as soft as I had hoped, but it’s okay. At least the socks are warm and comfy and the colour is nice.

Right after I finished Rick, I started another one of Cookie A.s designs: the Baudelaire socks. The first one is already finished and is officially my first toe-up sock:

The leg is a bit too tight but I’m still quite happy. Though I don’t think I like toe-up socks … the boring part (knitting the leg) comes at the end, that makes the socks even harder to finish … and the heel part contradicts all logic and common sense (at least mine 🙂 ).

Happy holidays!

1 Comment »

  1. tryphina Said:

    yes, toe-up is an ungodly and wond’rous thing. especially the toe-up-two-at-a-time-thinies. never got the hang of it.
    good to hear that the leg of the baudelaire socks is too tight even for your delicate elvish legs. i knitted addtional cables to make it fit my baroque physique.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

